It is always fascinating to know more about how a parish has become what it is now through its history - the buildings, surroundings and people. We are starting to populate this area of the site and would welcome many more ideas and contributions. If you have photos, memories and other information to share, please contact firstname.lastname@example.org.
More historial photos of St Luke's and St Bartholomew's can be viewed on our Flickr page.
St Luke's - a brief history
The first St Luke's, the 'Iron Church', was built in 1878 on the site of what are now 27, 29 and 31 Erleigh Road. It cost £967 19s 0d to build and much of the money was provided by Henry Bilson Blandy, a churchwarden of St Giles and Mayor of Reading.
The growth in the population of the Redlands Estate meant that a more permanent church was soon needed. Work on the present building began on 3 April 1882 to a design by Mr Piers St Aubyn of London who was also an architect of St Giles church.
On 27 June 1882 Mr Blandy laid the foundation stone which can be seen on the wall fronting Donnington Road, surmounted by a brick cross 6 feet tall and 5 feet wide. The entire building is in red brick, crowned by a 'sanctus' bell turret which for many is St Luke's distinguishing feature being clearly visible from most of the surrounding parish.
On 6 June 1883 the new church was consecrated by the Bishop of Oxford.
Erleigh Road and London Road